2017 Jimmy Starling Trophy

»«Saturday 8th - Sunday 9th July 2017

Ten Squibs entered the Jimmy Starling Trophy hosted by the Burnham Sailing Club over the weekend of 7th and 8th July. The forecast was for light airs all weekend and by lunchtime on Saturday, the forecast was proving correct. Standing on the balcony there were signs of a breeze developing down river and the Race Officer, Digger Harden, set off followed by some rather dubious Squibbers. 

The wind settled from the South East and the windward mark was layed in the Fairway with a foul tide beat. Nic Tolhurst and Mel Titmus in By The Lee, started at the pin end, cleared the fleet and was first to the windward mark, a position they kept for the entire race. Those behind Tolhurst faced a fickle wind which dropped in strength and changed direction – quite a few boats finished the first beat with spinnakers set. Robert Coyle and Mark Rawinsky (Humphrey) were second and Phil Aspinall and Alex Porteus were third in Guy Fawkes.

The wind started to settle by the second start but facing a foul tide the fleet stayed close to the line and at the start most of the boats were OCS but a keen eyed PRO had them all listed and the race proceeded.  Nic Tolhurst again won the race with Chequemate (Ian Simmons and guest helm Malcolm Hutchings) were in second place.

By the time the third race started there was a steady breeze, still from the SE.  It was a change in fortune for the third race when Tolhurst was OCS.  The race was won by Chequemate and Humphrey was second. The first day was finished with Chequemate and Humprey on equal points.The Fleet headed home in the sunshine for supper at the Sailing Club.

Sunday started with a clear sky, hot but again with little breeze. The Committee Boat settled outside the BSC giving some spectators a good view of the racing. What little wind there was came from the South East again and the windward/leeward course was again set with a foul tide beat. Chequemate, today with Ian Gray at the helm, won both races to secure the Trophy.  Robert Coyle addded to his string of seconds to come second overall and Phil Aspinall added to his string of  third places. However, Nic Tolhurst having discarded his OCS finished third overall.

Phi Shanahan