Annual General Meeting 2011

»«Sunday 11th December 2011

A good crowd of members - over eighty - attended the Annual General Meeting to mark the end of a successful three year tenure as commodore by Stuart Munro and the election of his successor, Robert Coyle.

Annie Reid, Rear Commodore House, also stood down after a particularly hard-working period of office and moved to the position of Vice Comodore with responsibilty for Premises and Moorings. Tim Howard took over as Rear Commodore House, having completed his term of office as Honorary Treaurer, whilst Peter Marchant continues as Rear Commodore Sailing. Clive Page stood down as Honorary Secretary but remains on the General Committee. He was replaced by Kim Allen and Michael Holmes becomes the new Honorary Treasurer.

The General Committee has a full complement of members with the addition of Barry Lewis and Justin Waples. Thanks to Sue Shapiro, there is now a complete gallery of General Committee Members for you to view.

Before the start of the AGM proper, Stuart Munro installed Bobby Melville as Admiral, offering him his personal flag, to the general acclaim of the Members. With his flag safely tucked underneath his arm, Bobby assured his audience of his great pleasure in accepting his new position, hoping that he would be able to fulfill any duties that came his way.

With the elections over, the new Commodore tackled the rest of the Agenda which concentrated mainly on changes to the Articles of Association to bring the Club's Articles up to date and in line with the Companies' Act 2006 and also to provide more flexibility in the nomination proceess, as well as changes to the Subscriptions for 2012. Shortly after the meeting was closed, the members enjoyed a most satisfactory lunch in the Dining Room.

Wendy Eagling