RCYC at Squib Inlands

»«Saturday 1st & Sunday 2nd October 2011

In the balmy conditions at Rutland Water, Malcolm Hutchings and Andy Ramsey Lady Penelope 819 won the National Travellers' Trophy and the Inland Team Trophy for the RCYC with Nigel & Jack Grogan Helmut Shöing 105 and Micky Wright & Chris Dunn Spoof 811. Carl Anderson and Jason Phelps Magic Roundabout 736 added the Bronze Fleet winners' award to make a triple success.

In the light and flukey Indian summer breezes at Rutland Water, our local boats once again increased their national standing. A squadron of 8 boats made the trip to this final major regatta of the year and they all made the most of the snakes and ladders that is light wind sailing at Rutland.

The team prize was wrested away from archrivals South Carnaervonshire with 4th, 6th and 7th overall and the strength in depth of the fleet was perhaps best demonstrated with seven RCYC boats in the top eleven in the final race.

The Travellers’ Trophy is awarded to the best overall from four events across the country and it is a testimony to the consistency and speed of the Burnham fleet that Hutchings and Ramsey, the winners, were followed closely by Wright and Dunn with Phil Aspinall & Howie Enkel Guy Fawkes 72 in 4th.

Phil Aspinall